Musical Delicacies

— Early Music Concert Series —

Musicians on the road between Prague and Vienna

Travelling musicians — On the road between Prague and Vienna: Internationality at the Habsburg courts.

Tuesday 4. August 2020 18:00 — Gallery, Archbishops’ château, Sněmovní náměstí 1, 767 01 Kroměříž, Czech Republic.

Due to limited number of tickets, we recommend booking by e-mail to


Ensemble Phoenix Munich:

Joel Frederiksen


Giovanni Felice Sances (1600 — 1679) Stabat mater (Pianto della Madonna)
Giovanni Felice Sances (1600 — 1679) Dominus possedit me
Leopold I. (1640 — 1705) Ciaconna
Pavel Josef Vejvanovský (cca. 1633 — 1693) Quid quid agam
Pavel Josef Vejvanovský (cca. 1633 — 1693) O bona crux
Gottfried Finger (cca. 1660 — 1730) Suite A major
Prelude — [Gavotte] — Ciaconne
Samuel Friedrich Capricornus (1628 — 1665) Exaudi me Domine quoniam benigna est

About the programme

Mobility has always been part of the music profession. Ensemble Phoenix Munich takes a look at the impact of Baroque composers, who travelled to work at the Habsburg Courts.

There are strikingly beautiful and affective virtuoso motets by Giovanni Felice Sances (1600–1679), who was born in Rome, including the Stabat mater for soprano and Dominus possedit me for bass. From 1636 Sances worked as a singer, later as conductor at the Vienna Court. His excellent compositions deserve more attention!

A Salve Regina (reconstruction of the lost soprano part: Domen Marinčič) by the composer Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber (1644–1704), who came from Bohemia and started his career in Kroměříž (Czech Republic), is an interesting rarity. The sacred works of the composer and trumpeter Pavel Josef Vejvanovský (ca. 1633–1693), newly transcribed by EPM, clearly show the influence of his predecessor Heinrich Biber.

A solo suite for lute by Gottfried Finger (ca. 1660–1730) from Olomouc, enriches the musical journey. In addition to London, his professional career took him to many places in Germany.

Omnes sancti angeli by Antonio Bertali (1605–1669) for bass, violin and continuo shows the dramatic prowess of a composer skilled in writing operas, oratorios, liturgical works and chamber music for the court in Vienna. Born in Verona, he worked before Sances as Kapellmeister at the Vienna Court. Much of his work has survived thanks to copies by his contemporary Pavel Josef Vejvanovský, some of which are kept in the famous Kroměříž archive.

Samuel Friedrich Capricornus (1628–1665) was a Czech composer who, like Sances and Bertali, worked as a musician in Vienna before settling in Stuttgart as Kapellmeister. EPM presents some treasures of his, such as Exaudi me Domine and Jauchzet dem Herrn alle Welt for soprano and bass, violin and continuo. There is also a sonata for gamba, violins and continuo that was attributed to Bertali, but was actually written by Capricornus, who was lesser known, — maybe it sold better with Bertali’s name?

Thank you

The concert takes place with financial support from the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic and the Česko-německý fond budoucnosti.

Logo of Ministry of Culture Česko-německý fond budoucnosti